Special orders

I know, I know, I’ve been MIA for a couple of weeks, sorry. I’ve been inundated with special orders. It’s been wonderful. I love when people recommend me to their family and friends. It helps me KNOW the quality I’m putting out. It’s different when you THINK you know, but it feels so much better when you KNOW you know, you know? (ha-ha-ha)

Here is one of my special orders. Nursing cover and burp cloths, made with Monster Inc fabric and coordinating Monster faces, and a baby Mike Wazowski beanie.

2014-04-16 19.53.33

Here is the link to the Nursing cover tutorial. Nursing covers take a lot of fabric! I have never done something so large before. Never worked with boning, or sewing hardware onto a project. This tutorial is fabulous for a novice sewer. My dimensions were different, simply because I had already cut the fabric for the burp cloths before my friend requested the cover, so I added trim from the coordinating burp cloth scraps. It made a matching set =) She was tickled, and I was able to add another item to my volley of “can do’s.” Fyi, I purchased this super cute fabric from the Fat Quarter Shop.

This is my new crown jewel achievement (I know, I keep saying that). Another crafter/baker, and I had traded items (love it when that happens), she recommended me to a customer who was looking for a very specific baby shower gift. Can you guess what it was? Well if you’re a Star Wars fan, then maybe. (Insert exciting unveiling music here)…..

2014-04-19 13.17.20

TA-DA!!!!! Mommy and me Boba Fet helmets! The photo shown to me had the details in felt. Maybe I’m just not experienced enough to work with felt, but I can’t seem to use it, unless felt is just glued, not sewn. Either way, I choose to crochet each piece, and sew them on individually. Very painstaking work, but the end result made it completely worth it. The gifter relayed that her niece was practically jumping through the phone when she saw it.

I vow to post more patterns this month, so stay tuned…

Have a Crafty Day!

 

Leave a Reply

