Intarsia Crochet

One of the most challenging words I hear is “Can you make?”

When someone starts a sentence with that phrase, I immediately get a feeling in the pit of my stomach, coupled with a blank look, open mouth, and then one of two things happen; a wave of relief if I’ve made something similar, OR a look of thoughtful confusion. If it is something new, my mind starts working at warp speed, taking internal inventory of my crafty knowledge, and trying to determine if I am skilled enough to take on said challenge. Thus was the case of the crochet Yoda blanket.

Initially the request was a brown crochet blanket for a baby shower gift, no problem! As I was working on the rest of the order, leaving the blanket for last since it takes the longest, my friend, in her infinite wisdom, said it would be really cool if I could add a Yoda to the center. I was playing around with shaping, thinking a Yoda applique, then she emailed me this:

yoda chartI had yet to do such extensive work in my crochet endeavors. Knitting, yes. I had made my good friend a skull blanket as a baby shower gift. She was having a girl, she hated pink, flowers, basically anything girlie. So I made her a knit skull checker blanket, using Intarsia knitting.

skull blankieIntarsia knitting uses different colors in large blocks. Instead of carrying the colors over, like in Fair Isle knitting, you use separate skeins, or bobbins of yarn (small amount of yarn taken from a larger skein), dropping one color and picking up another, as you work along.

Since I had experience with Intarsia knitting, I figured, Intarsia crochet? Why not.

First things first, the graph she sent me was fantastic! But it’s kind of small. So I decided to double each square, and repeat each line in half double crochet. Then I decided to make the Yoda center first, then add to that center, making it larger, like you would if making a large granny square style blanket.

The smaller colored areas (hands, feet, staff), I carried my yarn, the larger areas (robe, head, sides), I used Intarsia crochet. At some points I had 3 skeins of yarn, and 3 bobbins of yarn working at the same time. This is how it turned out.

IMG_1083Pretty cool for using Intarsia crochet for the first time =) I love, love, LOVE, that it looks the same on the right side and the wrong side. With knitting, it is obvious which side is the wrong side, but not in crochet, happy dance!

As I mentioned, I crocheted around this rectangle, using triple, double and single crochet, to get a nice stripped pattern. I also crocheted 2 of whatever stitch I was using, chained 2, and crocheted 2, in each corner *example: 2DC, chain 2, 2DC = corner stitch. In each round after, I put a corner stitch in each chain 2 space. My final blanket measured 36×30 inches, perfect for a crib.

IMG_1084 This technique has endless possibilities. I immediately went out and bought some graph paper to make my own patterns, thereby adding to my never ending to do list. Expect more posts soon.

Have a Crafty Day!

 

Leave a Reply

