Geeking Out

We are feeling truly blessed in our crafty endeavors. My sissy was approached by a Comic book shop, Brave New World Comics, that was looking to expand by opening a Geek Boutique. They were looking for crafters that fit their Genre and customer base. I am admittedly a geek. I heart Marvel comics, thanks to my collector brother, and have the entire first series of Marvel cards, complete will team-ups, origins and first appearances. I am a fan of Sci-Fi, and like Sheldon Cooper, prefer Star Trek: The Next Generation, but the original series deserves honorable mention. I think my sisters all kind of looked at me funny because of my geeky passion, but I have found my people! More appropriately, those that share my passion, have found our shop, WOOT, WOOT!

I have been working on stock for upcoming craft fairs, so I immediately sent a sampling to the shop for a preview. They love them!

geek boutique tmnt geek boutique

They have already had customers try to reserve the character hats, WHAT? We are so very excited, and overwhelmed by the response. Our ETSY shop has been fabulous, and busy, but this is a whole different experience. My hook is on fire, and my mind is whirling with design ideas. Here are my two latest ones. Previously mentioned Star Trek, series, Gold for Command; blue for science, and medical; Red for security and engineering.

DSC01102For those non-Trekies, please don’t confuse these with Next Generation. They decided to change colors around for Next Generation, namely the red and gold. Red, more of a maroon red, is for Command and pilots, and gold is for engineering and security, while blue stayed the same. Plus the Next Generation communicators are set on top of an oval. I know, I know, geek lesson, but you gotta know.

My next new design is one of my kiddos favorites, Beemo from Adventure Time.

BeemoMy 3 year old started “playing” with the buttons as soon as I finished.

You can call me a nerd, geek, Sci-Fi fanatic, it hasn’t changed me, and with this new chapter in our crafty lives, it will only fuel my geekyness (yes that’s a word).

Have a Crafty Day!

2 thoughts on “Geeking Out

  1. Hi! I love your blog! I have a quick question for you, could you email me to chat about it? Thanks! -Heather

Leave a Reply

