Mia Slouch Boot Pattern Review

I have made it known that I am no where near talented enough to make up a bootie pattern on my on. I mean, there are too many things that can go wrong with the shaping. I get a little short of breath just thinking about starting from scratch….breath….breath. So I give kudos and props to those talented individuals who can 1. Invent a bootie pattern on their own, and 2. Have talent to write a comprehensive pattern that even us beginners can follow.

My favorite Knitter baby bootie pattern writer (wow, say that 5 times fast) is L’Oasi della Maglia. Since I am mucho into crochet currently, I needed to find a crochet bootie pattern writer (here we go again with the long names), whom I’d enjoy equally as much. Taking the advice of my crochet sister, and author of the blog Chucks for Chancho (insert shameless plug here), I checked out Two Girls Patterns on ETSY, hello, LOVE!

They have the most adorable crochet boots, sandals and shoe patterns! If you are an avid Pinterest user, then you have no doubt seen their work EVERYWHERE. Anyone who has a crochet board has at least one of their items pinned. Now I haven’t done the necessary research to say this is a fact, buuuut, probably. I purchased a 3 pattern bundle. I have yet to get to the other two patterns, but this one rocks.

It’s called Mia slouch boot. It is ridiculously easy to read and understand. I am so impressed with the combination of basic crochet stitches they use to form the “slouch” of this boot.

IMG_0842So cute. I was tempted to get back on ETSY and buy an adult pattern, but then it hit me; what if I used a thicker yarn, and a larger hook, hmmm. These booties worked up so fast, it was worth a shot. Using some Bernet Chunky yarn, and an 8mm hook, I went to work. Ta-Da

IMG_0843

Boots for my size 6 daughter. I went up another hook size and made some for my Mama. A word of caution, yarn bottoms are slippery! I tried adding dots of puffy paint to the bottoms, but that didn’t help much, so I turned to Youtube. I found this amazing video of how to add silicone soles to knit slippers. It looks genius! I can’t wait to try it!

Have a Crafty Day!

5 thoughts on “Mia Slouch Boot Pattern Review

  1. Pingback: Crochet Baby Sandals - part 2

  2. Pingback: Crochet Baby Sandals - part 4 - Free Crochet Patterns

  3. Pingback: Crochet Baby Sandals - part 5 - Free Crochet Patterns

Leave a Reply

