So many Characters

I literally can’t stop making character hats. After posting on a crafts page for my new location, I have been bombarded with character hat requests. It has been amazing! I feel blessed and challenged, not to mention crazy busy. I thought I’d share two with you all, Halloween AND Christmas are just around the corner, hint hint.

My very good, and old friend, requested Minion hats for her 3 little Minions. This was not a very big challenge for me since my genius sister, and author of Chucks for Chancho, had already developed a pattern and posted a tutorial on her blog, and she also has them for sale in her ETSY shop. My friend wanted braids added and a pretty bow for her little girl. So I made a few slit adjustments to my sister’s pattern. I lengthened the ear flaps by substituting single crochet to a half double crochet, added braids for the girl, and twists for the boy.

IMG_0162

Since these were the same, but different, I wanted her older daughter’s to be unique. I made the eyes smaller so we could use two and only used blue in the braids. I also added a tongue for fun. She liked it so much she ordered another for her sister.

IMG_0163

To make the tongue make a magic loop, half double crochet 8, DO NOT CLOSE WITH A SLIP STITCH, simple bind off, synch your magic loop tight and sew the flat edge against the mouth.

The same day my friend asked for these, I received a request from a new friend for a few hats as well. Two were Hello Kitty hats. I recall my sister making a Hello Kitty inspired hat, so I could have easily asked her for her pattern, or asked her to make it, but where’s the fun in that? I think I rocked it on my own =)

IMG_0213

Have a Crafty Day!

One thought on “So many Characters

  1. Pingback: RECYCLE – Granny Knit Sweater Throw Pillow | chucksforchancho

Leave a Reply

