2-Button Cowl Pattern

I think I have finally found a good balance between knitting and crocheting, and I have to thank my Aunt for that. She loves the items I make and is an avid crafter herself, making traditional Native walking sticks, Native jewelry and baby shower items, (click here to shop at her FB page) however she does not knit or crochet. So with her crafty wisdom, she suggested a trade. With my Mom’s help, they picked out some great vintage buttons from her stash to trade for some items. They sent me 4 gallon size Ziploc bags FULL of buttons, and a bunch of ribbon. So basically anything she wants she’s going to get! Here is my first installation of item payment. IMG_0123

She loves “Earth Tones” which to me always meant brown since earth is dirt right? After my sister laughed at me, made fun of me, she then explained what “Earth Tones” meant. Apparently they’re warm earthy hues of browns, greens, oranges, and even blues, and sometimes greys, well….ok. So naturally I had to pin some color pallets on Pinterest for assistance.

Back to the crafting portion, I thought I would share my 2-button cowl pattern with you. I know this one has four, but you see I have come into an excess of buttons lately, lol. I like this look because it can be changed up depending on your mood. The buttons give you the option of wearing it snug on the neck or loose for better accessorizing. I always love the self striping yarn, it saves way more time then switching yarn colors, but that is always an option. The stitch is large enough that you don’t need to add button holes, but check your button size about half way through your work so you can determine if you need to add button holes or not.

I use Charisma Loops & Threads, (Bulky 5) and can usually be found at any craft store. IMG_0134

Abbreviations:

St-Stitch

K-Knit

Sl-Slip one stitch from left needle to right needle unworked (as if to purl)

*-Repeat

Pattern:

With size 13 needles, cast on 28stitches (or any even number of stitches).

Row1: K

Row 2: K1, *K1, Sl 1* until 3 St remain, K3

Row 3: K

Row 4: K3, *Sl 1, K1* until 2 St remain, K2

That’s it! If you use this pattern as is, repeat these 4 rows for the entire skein until there is just enough yarn left to Bind off. If you need to add button holes to accommodate larger buttons you can do that in any Knit row. I would recommend K8, Bind off 2, K8, Bind off 2, K8 and in the next row you’ll need to Cast on those stitches (for large buttons), or any way you prefer to add button holes. Medium sized buttons fit perfectly between the stitches, or you can mix it up by sewing a ribbon and using it as a closure for a totally different look.

IMG_0124 IMG_0128 IMG_0129

Have a Crafty Day!

2 thoughts on “2-Button Cowl Pattern

  1. I love the cowl!!!!!!!! The colors are soooo pretty. Giving me Ideas for infinity scarves. p.s – I’m jelly about your button stash! hehe

Leave a Reply

