OVW Granny Bottom Bag

I am on a super bag kick as of late. I think it is one of the best summer yarn accessary, plus it couples my knowledge of sewing, CRAFT POWERS UNITE!

Since I am trying to perfect my crochet stitches to the, oh so high, perfectionist, standards of my sister, I try to use YouTube as much as possible. One of my all time favorite YouTubers is OVW (One Virtuous Woman). She is really easy to understand, is funny, and gives great instructions. Her Granny bottom bag is really simple, an over sized granny square with the sides gathered in. WHAT? Yup, that’s it.

Her video is a 2 parter, the first part is the granny square. Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=2RgxjEsvGKE

Second part is decreasing the sides. She forgets to tell you to add the lining before decreasing, so ADD THE LINING BEFORE DECREASING. Link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=nBm5WuMyuGc

I sewed the lining by hand, which is not very easy for me. I used this video to perfect my hand whip stitch, just fast forward till about 8 minutes in for the hand whip stitch. Sound quality is not great, but viewing is fantastic. Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUqiJuV2pTI&feature=player_detailpage#t=482s

I loved making this bag! This is what mine looks like.

DSC00376

Have a Crafty Day!

One thought on “OVW Granny Bottom Bag

  1. Pingback: Everyday I Need You! | Nizy's Life Compendium

Leave a Reply

